Penn State Harrisburg awards ceremony recognizes faculty and staff

nittany lion
Credit: Penn State Harrisburg

MIDDLETOWN, Pa. – Penn State Harrisburg recently recognized outstanding employee contributions at the virtual 2021 Faculty and Staff Recognition Program. Nominated by the college community and selected by various award committees, several faculty and staff members received awards.

View a gallery of the award recipients here.

Staff Service Award

Steve Backels, director of Counseling and Student Support, and Michael Melnyk, associate director, Student Engagement, Residence Life, Student Conduct, and Student Care and Advocacy

Faculty Service Award

Jane M. Wilburne, professor of mathematics education, School of Behavioral Sciences and Education

Scholarly Activity Award

Jennifer Hirt, associate professor of creative writing and composition, School of Humanities; Senel Poyrazli, professor of counseling psychology, School of Behavioral Sciences and Education; and David L. Williamson IV, associate professor of kinesiology, School of Behavioral Sciences and Education

Excellence in Teaching Award

Ana Patricia Aguilera-Hermida, assistant teaching professor of human development and family studies, School of Behavioral Sciences and Education and Sabri Yilmaz, associate teaching professor of economics, School of Business Administration

Excellence in Advising Award

Catherine McCormick, assistant teaching professor of communications and humanities, School of Humanities and Rebecca Weiler-Timmins, associate teaching professor of kinesiology, School of Behavioral Sciences and Education

Thomas Eberlein Excellence in Teaching Award

Daniel M. Massey, adjunct lecturer in mechanical engineering and mechanical engineering technology, School of Science, Engineering, and Technology

Faculty Diversity Award

Roderick L. Lee, associate professor of information systems, School of Business Administration

Staff Diversity Award

Marissa G. Hoover, senior director of Alumni and Development

Kathryn Towns Women’s History Month Award

Shobha Potlakayala, assistant teaching professor of biology, School of Science, Engineering, and Technology

25-Year Awards

The ceremony also recognized faculty and staff who have completed 25 years of service to the University. They include: Eugene C. Boman, Margaret R. Jaster, Judi L. MacDonald, Colleen M. Monismith, Linda M. Null, Seth Wolpert and Yuefeng Xie.

Faculty and Staff Retirees

Faculty and staff retirees who were also recognized included Steve Backels, Brenda L. Firestone, Donna J. Howard and Troy M. Thomas.