Penn State Harrisburg business students, faculty inducted into honor societies

MIDDLETOWN, Pa. — Students and faculty in Penn State Harrisburg’s School of Business Administration recently were inducted into two honor societies.

The Penn State Harrisburg chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) – the International Business Honor Society inducted 24 students into their ranks. John Haddad, interim director for the School of Business Administration, also was inducted into the society.

Students ranking in the top 10% of baccalaureate and the top 20% of graduate programs at schools accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, are eligible to join. 

Annually, the members of the Capital College Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma recognize a faculty member who embodies the ideals of Beta Gamma Sigma — the highest standards of teaching and mentorship, as well as the BGS principles of honor, wisdom and earnestness. Ozge Aybat, associate professor of marketing and BGS chapter adviser, was awarded the 2024 Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year Award.

Undergraduate students inducted into BGS include:

  • Esma Alagic – Mountville, Pennsylvania
  • Sydney Armstrong – Baldwin, Maryland
  • Brianna Brennan – Middletown, Pennsylvania
  • Jessica Geary – Marietta, Pennsylvania
  • Khadra Hassan – Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
  • Noah Kildare – New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
  • Willow Marsh – Lebanon, Pennsylvania
  • Madelyn Neuhard – Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Brennan Quigley – New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
  • Genesis Santana – Nesquehoning, Pennsylvania
  • Cody Stambaugh – Dover, Pennsylvania
  • Noah Turk – Lancaster, Pennsylvania
  • Isabel Warfield – Hershey, Pennsylvania
  • Hannah Wheeler – Hanover, Pennsylvania

Graduate students inducted into BGS include:

  • Sukaynah Al Haji – Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
  • Amy Corbett – Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
  • Alicia Gerber – Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Jorden Hoffman – Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
  • Luke Myers – Millerstown, Pennsylvania
  • Ananya Pai – Hummelstown, Pennsylvania

The college’s chapter of Mu Kappa Tau inducted three students and two faculty members into the nationally recognized collegiate honor society for marketing students. Mu Kappa Tau (MKT) was founded in 1966 to recognize and honor individuals with notable academic achievement in the marketing discipline. Today, Mu Kappa Tau is the only marketing-specific honor society accredited by the Association of College Honor Societies. Siddharth Bhatt, assistant professor of marketing, is the chapter faculty adviser, and Darrell Bartholomew, associate professor of marketing, is the ex-officio president of the Mu Kappa Tau national organization.

Membership in Mu Kappa Tau is extended to students with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher and who rank in the top 10% of junior marketing majors or in the top 20% of senior marketing majors. MKT membership also is extended to graduate students pursuing their master’s degree in business or marketing who have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher, have completed 50% of their coursework, and rank in the top 20% of their class. All students pursuing their doctoral degree in marketing, faculty members who hold a doctoral degree in marketing, and those who have made significant contributions to the marketing profession, are also eligible for membership in Mu Kappa Tau.

Student inductees into MKT include:

  • Brianna Brennan
  • Nolan Delany (World Campus)
  • Willow Marsh

Faculty inductees into MKT include:

  • Stephen Hampton, assistant professor of marketing
  • Hossein Hashemi, assistant professor of marketing