Harrisburg students, faculty inducted into national marketing honor society

MIDDLETOWN, Pa. — Four students and one faculty member were inducted this spring into Penn State Harrisburg’s chapter of Mu Kappa Tau, a national honor society that recognizes top students majoring in marketing.

Mu Kappa Tau was founded in 1966 by members of Pi Sigma Epsilon to recognize and honor individuals with notable academic achievement in the marketing discipline. Mu Kappa Tau is the only marketing honor society accredited by the Association of College Honor Societies.

Membership in Mu Kappa Tau is extended to students with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher and who rank in the top 10% of junior marketing majors, or in the top 20% of senior marketing majors. Membership is also extended to graduate students pursuing their master’s degree in business or marketing who have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher, have completed 50% of their coursework, and rank in the top 20% of their class. All students pursuing their doctorates in marketing, faculty members who hold a doctorate in marketing, and those who have made significant contributions to the marketing profession are also eligible for membership in Mu Kappa Tau.

Siddharth Bhatt, assistant professor of marketing, is the chapter faculty adviser and Darrell Bartholomew, assistant professor of marketing, is the current president of the Mu Kappa Tau national organization.

The guest speaker for the event was Brian Bucciarelli, managing director of Hershey Entertainment and Resorts.

Bhatt and the following students were inducted into the Penn State Harrisburg chapter of Mu Kappa Tau:

  • Ashley Darrow, Moscow, Pennsylvania
  • Aaron Frankel, Houston, Texas
  • Kevin Mcpherson, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Anna Shank, Middletown, Pennsylvania