Harrisburg names 14 local leaders to School of Humanities advisory board

MIDDLETOWN, Pa. — Penn State Harrisburg’s School of Humanities has named 14 local business and organization leaders, including five Penn State Harrisburg alumni, to its new advisory board.   

Members include: Cate Barron, vice president of content, PA Media Group, 2013 alumna; Amy Bischof, director, The Hershey Story Museum, 2003 alumna; John P. Booth, executive director, Ned Smith Nature Center for Nature and Art; Ophelia Chambliss, communications instructor, Penn State Harrisburg, 2008 alumna; Joyce Davis, director of communications, city of Harrisburg; Cara Fry, senior vice president and chief content officer, WITF; Andrea Bakewell Lowery, executive director, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission; Joseph McFarland, superintendent, Derry Township School District, 2003 alumnus; Michelle Marsolais O'Brien, chair of the English and Language Arts Department, Hershey High School, 1997 alumna; Jeff Pratt, executive editor, Carlisle Sentinel; Alice Anne Schwab, executive director, Susquehanna Art Museum; Melissa Snyder, executive director, JumpStreet; Christine V.E. Turner, executive director, Historical Society of Dauphin County; and Carrie Wissler-Thomas, president, Art Association of Harrisburg.

Jeffrey P. Beck, director of the School of Humanities, expressed his excitement about the work of the advisory board.

“These Pennsylvania leaders are helping Penn State Harrisburg students with two important goals — increasing internship opportunities for student careers, and developing community engagement programs for student learning and community service,” Beck said. “We are deeply grateful to all of the members for their service.”